Autumn 2011 – First Week Impressions (Part 1)

This post examines C3 CubexCursedxCurious, Working’!!, Phi Brain, and Kimi to Boku.

The first bunch of shows for this Autumn season have aired and everyone is busily sampling what each have to offer.  The first week of a new season is always the most active and pivotal since this is the time when people begin to decide whether to stay with an anime for 12+ weeks or not.  Many allow each show to have two-to-three episodes before passing judgment but not me.  One episode is usually enough to influence me one way or the other, so let’s see how these first few shows performed.

Watching:

Working’!! (Brain Off) – The second season of Working!! is off to a great start with that familiar set-up, style, and comedy.  It’s almost like this was an extension of the first season with everything feeling the same, especially the laughs.  There really isn’t anything more to say since you already know what you’re getting into with this anime and it’s exactly like my expectations.  It might as well have been one of the better episodes of the first season that is launching this season.  And while that’s a bunch of positives, especially the flawless transition between the two seasons, there are a few negatives which will hopefully be quickly corrected.  First off, the relationship between Takanashi and Inami seems to have regressed when it looked like there was some progress for both characters at the end of the first season.  It was one of the only meaningful stories in the series and I had hoped this season would work on it some more.  Having it at this stage to start the season is a step back in my opinion.  Secondly, there really needs to be more Maya in this anime.  She’s my favorite character but she never has any appearances or lines or anything.  I’m glad to have seen her in those transition scenes working and punching her time card but I’d like to see her do more than just avoid everyone.  But then again, that’s kinda her thing.  Guess it’s a catch-22 with her.  But regardless of relationship status and favorite character appearances, I’m undoubtedly watching this anime and hope to enjoy it more than the first season.

Undecided:

Phi Brain (Brain On) – Ever since I was a little kid, I’ve always loved puzzles.  And a part of me still does which I why I had some interest in Phi Brain this season, an anime about solving puzzles and probably some greater, concealed mysteries, too.  Not sure on the plot besides there being puzzles everywhere in this undesirable society and they seem to be as commonplace as schoolgirls in anime.  The characters were tolerable but nothing too special, seemed like a typical shounen pair of lead male and support female.  The art style is actually alright, something different enough and decent enough to be watchable for an entire season.  And while I want to keep watching this anime, I question how long this desire will last.  The puzzles weren’t that interesting or important, the story seems subpar, and I know I’m going to hate some of the characters show in the opening sequence.  And my time this season is rather tight, so I might have to drop this anime even though I’d likely keep it if it were any other season.  So while I sound incredibly negative about this show, it does get another week which is more than I can say for any of the shows listed below.

Dropped:

C3 CubexCursedxCurious (Brain Off) – Yet another anime that failed to distinguish itself in its first episode.  The characters were nothing special: Yachi, the friendly yet empty male lead; Fear, tsundere and magical loli; and Konoha, childhood friend who has hots for Yachi (but will never get any).  The dialogue and set-up were uninspired, too, and I can’t help but not care about the story at hand about the curses and friends and whatever.  I am rather jaded from these recycled light novel adaptations that seem to be the same thing over and over again.  But I’ll admit it was better than I thought: I didn’t hate it.  Silver Link, the animation studio stuck with producing this anime, did a spectacular job with the animation, especially the lighting and colors.  The character designs prompt fond memories of BakaTest, too, guessing this is the same team that did that delightful comedy.  The ecchi was never an annoyance either with only a few minor pantyshots and a naked girl scattered across the episode.  I’d actually say that fanservice improved the anime by distracting me from the dialogue every so often.  And I always appreciate it whenever there’s an episode of an anime about high-schoolers that doesn’t have a scene at school.  But the negatives outnumber the positives here, so consider it off my list.  Still going to keep an eye on the series though…

One final note, I’ve always hated it when lolis call guys perverts for whatever asinine reason.  But I think Fear has a valid point here.  All Yachi gave her to wear were a dress shirt and a pair of striped panties (and why does he have those panties when he lives alone?) and thought that was good enough.  Why not offer a pair of pants or shorts or something to cover herself up completely?  Yeah, there’s no denying that Yachi is a pervert after that.

 

Kimi to Boku (Brain Off) – Well, that turned out to be insufferably boring.  I actually think the anime would’ve been better had it been four girls instead of four guys.  Why?  Because I already know to avoid those four girl slice-of-life animes.  Seeing four guys for this anime must’ve tricked me into thinking it might actually be decent but there was absolutely nothing different besides the sexes.  This style of anime has never clicked well with me, so I’m dropping it and am done with it.

At this point, I have 4 anime for the Autumn.  There are about 5-6 slots left (maybe less) meaning the competition will be fierce for Phi Brain.  I fully expect Guilty Crown, UN-GO, Persona 4, and Last Exile: Fam, the Silver Wing (Ginyoku no Fam) to take 4 of those slots meaning there’s potentially 1-2 slots up for grabs.  Tamayura, Ben-To, Chihayafuru, and Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai haven’t even aired yet, so there should be some cut-throat competition in the next week for those final spots.  You might as well consider Phi Brain gone since it’s on the outside looking in and not likely to outlast those last four.  But you never know until everything airs.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Zammael on October 4, 2011 - 5:11 PM

    Nothing worth watching so far, alas. Fate/Zero has potential but if the next few episodes continue the exposition of the initial, I’m dropping it faster than Netflix’s stock.

    • #2 by avvesione on October 4, 2011 - 5:50 PM

      Yeah, the only 2 shows I’ve picked up have been comedies so far (not your cup of tea). Season is starting out a little weak compared to the Spring and Summer but that’s expected since Last Exile and the noitaminA anime air next week. I’m guessing you’ll like those more than what has aired thus far.

      • #3 by Zammael on October 4, 2011 - 7:01 PM

        You may be right although I do enjoy the occasional comedy such as Is It A Zombie or School Rumble. Even Beelzebub gets a coupla chuckles tho it lost most of its uniqueness 10 episodes ago.

        Looking forward to your suggestions along with Guilty Crown.

  2. #4 by Detetiv on October 5, 2011 - 9:46 AM

    Phi Brain: Everything else looks cohesive but the eyes on the main character. I’ll try watching it but it’s just the way they drew his eyes that really bother me. I guess I’m a sucker for mystery stuff.

    • #5 by avvesione on October 5, 2011 - 3:26 PM

      Yeah, the art style is pretty different than what we commonly see but it’s not distracting or unwatchable or anything like that. And it’s a different style of mystery, so it may or may not be your thing. Guess you’ll find out when you watch it.

      • #6 by Detetiv on October 6, 2011 - 12:20 AM

        Happened to find it on YT subbed, Kaito’s eyes are the worst drawn. Scratch on chalkboard bad, the story is sure bland. I could compare this to a run-down version of Yu-Gi-Oh with Yugi being Kaito & his red-eyed version being Yami with Nonoha being Tea Gardner. I’ve got nothing to lose since all I have left to watch is Suite Precure & everything else ended. For me everything is great and all but Kaito’s eyes, the way they are drawn hinder it.

        • #7 by avvesione on October 6, 2011 - 1:14 PM

          I’m sure you’ll get adjusted to the art style if you watch the series regularly. And are you really only watching that and Suite Precure this season? There should be a bunch of better shows out this season than Phi Brain, including those in my other post (I’ve dropped Phi Brain). If they’re your style, you should check them out.

        • #8 by Detetiv on October 6, 2011 - 11:10 PM

          Well Persona 4 I didn’t realize it started already 25 eps, looking forward to watching Last Exile & maybe Un-Go. That’s really it.

  1. Notes For The Fall 2011 Anime Season Final (Part II) « Organization Anti-Social Geniuses

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

