12 Days of Anime – Day 5 – SEIZON SENRYAKU!!!

Do I really need to say anything more?  No, I don’t, but I will add some material to give this moment the attention and respect it deserves.

One of the most memorable, defining moments of one of the best anime of the year ends up taking Day 5 on my 12 Days of Anime list.  I remember before Mawaru Penguindrum aired that there was a bunch of hype surrounding it but even greater than that was the sense of mystery surrounding it.  No one really knew what it was about except that it had Kunihiko Ikuhara as Director (famous from Revolutionary Girl Utena) and it also had penguins.  And that was it.  But the hype and mystery made Penguindrum one of the most anticipated anime of the Autumn season.  The first episode was fine, had high quality, good drama, some well-placed humor, and some sense of wonder, but nothing out of the ordinary or distinguishing.  Then…

I think the rest can speak for itself.  Thanks Mawaru Penguindrum for having one of the most awesome, high-energy, kick-ass transformation sequences ever in anime.  And that, in and of itself, is quite the accomplishment.  Really, if I could put the whole anime down here, I would, but there was no greater moment in Penguindrum than the very first Seizon Senryaku and that moment takes up deserves its own day.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Joojoobees on December 19, 2011 - 1:51 PM

    Funny that this comes the day AFTER “Overanalyzing Anime”. Penguindrum, from the transformation sequence, to just about every single background detail has been overanalyzed somewhere in the aniblogiverse.

    As to the survival strategy moment deserving its own day, yes, I agree wholeheartedly.

    • #2 by avvesione on December 19, 2011 - 2:47 PM

      I actually had another article scheduled for this day since I was going to be gone on vacation but scrapped it and used this to replace it instead, so I didn’t plan on these two being together. But yeah, Penguindrum has been the most analyzed anime of the season (and perhaps the year), so it is kinda funny they’re back to back for me.

  2. #3 by SnippetTee on December 19, 2011 - 8:33 PM

    This is also included on my list. I also do admit that this show as a whole became really enjoying for me because of the hype and speculations in the aniblogosphere. Hence, it really does deserve a moment.

    • #4 by avvesione on December 20, 2011 - 1:31 AM

      Yeah, I’ve noticed we’ve had a few parallels during the 12 Days of Anime. Both our day 2s had Kyubey, day 3s were on something we loved that brought us joy, and we both just recently had Penguindrum posts. Guess you and I found a lot of amazing things similar over this past year!

      Originally had this Penguindrum post lined up for when the finale aired this week but had to shuffle some of these days around. Glad it’s getting the attention it deserves.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 292 other followers

