12 Days of Anime – Day 6 – Makoto from THE iDOLM@STER

I don’t ever recall watching an entire anime before just because of one character but Makoto Kikuchi from Idolmaster did just that.  So she’s getting Day 6 all to herself on my 12 Days of Anime.

I’m embarrassed to admit it but I’m really fond of her character despite it being a simple archetype designed to attract fans to the franchise.  Sure, she’s not the most elaborate, detailed, or interesting character there is but that combination of her tomboyish and cute looks, energetic personality, beautiful voice, and friendly demeanor all come together to create an extremely likable character.  And really, that’s all that’s needed.

Because of her (and only her) I have happily watched the Idolmaster anime.  I remember originally thinking the anime wasn’t going to be worth it with its cast of moe girls with shallow personalities but I gave the anime a chance because I enjoyed one of them so much.  And as the series has progressed and the characters were given their time in the spotlight (literally sometimes) the anime warmed up to me and I began to enjoy the anime as a whole.  In the end, it turned out to be a good decision.  It’d be wrong to deny a character of such influence from my 12 Days of Anime, so here’s a day devoted to the magnificent Makoto.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by SStefania on December 20, 2011 - 4:55 AM

    I am going to go back to watching Idolm@ster for the sake of Makoto, just not now. I am really going to.

    • #2 by avvesione on December 20, 2011 - 5:05 PM

      I don’t think you’ll be disappointed, Makoto is featured quite a bit and has a bunch of good scenes. She isn’t the main character except for one episode, so hopefully you’re alright with her as a background character most of the time. She’s featured more than most of the other idols, though, and I’d figure she ranks 4th or 5th in screentime throughout the whole anime. Hope you enjoy the anime beyond Makoto, too, since it is a pretty entertaining show.

  2. #3 by krizzlybear on December 20, 2011 - 11:01 AM

    Oh lordy, I have found another makotobro. I’m so glad she’s on your 12 days list. I’m still trying to figure out how to fit her into mine, because I simply love the show in general anyway.

    • #4 by avvesione on December 20, 2011 - 5:06 PM

      Glad to hear that. I didn’t realize there was a fanclub of sorts for Makoto but that’s not surprising considering how great she is. Hopefully you can find a way to fit her into your 12 days list, too.

  3. #5 by Donnie on January 10, 2013 - 6:13 AM

    I LOVE Makoto. I have a thing for tomboys, so naturally she is one of my all-time favorite characters. And it helps Idolm@ster is a great show. She definitely gets the edge over Haruhi from Ouran High, mainly because I didn’t like that show too well. (Though I wasn’t the target audience either).

    • #6 by avvesione on January 11, 2013 - 11:21 AM

      It’s great to hear from another Makoto fan. Tomboys have always been one of my favorite archetypes/personalities, so when I came across Makoto in the iDOLM@STER, I immediately feel in love with her character and everything about her. I’m really happy to know she has a ton of fans out there, too, considering that I’m still kinda new to the whole fandom and everything.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

