50 Questions for Avvesione

Now that I’ve arrived back home from Japan, I can resume blogging about random tangential posts on the various anime I watch.  But before we dive into the finales for Nisemonogatari, Guilty Crown, and Last Exile: Ginyoku no Fam is a post I intended to have published while I was on vacation but it wasn’t completed in time and left for when I returned.  Starting the trend of answering 50 questions was AceRailgun (I recommend you check out his blog) and quite a number of other anime bloggers have already done similar posts since.  I meant to have this up weeks ago but it kept getting delayed and was never completed until now.  So here are my answers to the 50 questions!

Questions about Anime

1. Who is your favorite male anime character?

Wow, this one sure is a difficult question to answer, largely due to the fact that I never really have thought about it and there’s a vast pool of candidates that could essentially be my true favorite.  I can’t give a singular answer at this time but the first few that come to mind are Rintarou Okabe from Steins;Gate, Protagonist from The Tatami Galaxy, Shichika Yasuri from Katanagatari, Adam Blade from Needless, and Kimihiro Watanuki from xxxHOLiC.

2. Who is your favorite female character?

In contrast to the previous question, this one will probably be the easiest of the 50 questions.  Setsuna from Needless is my favorite anime character.  Every single characteristic about her is something that is my favorite or extremely favorable and her role in the manga following the events of the anime put her miles ahead of second.  Who’s second is probably a better question to ask since I’m not sure myself but, like before, a list will do fine for who might be my second favorite: Kikuchi Makoto from THE iDOLM@STER, Lavie Head from Last Exile, Akari Mizunashi from Aria, and Horo from Spice and Wolf.

3. What is your favorite anime soundtrack?

I’m not much for anime soundtracks but Puella Magi Madoka Magica has a number of favorites.  More important than having tunes I like is the fact that these songs were essential in establishing the mood and atmosphere throughout the anime.  Without a soundtrack of this caliber, Madoka would not have had the same impact.

4. What is your favorite anime opening + animation?

This probably changes daily and the list I have in mind probably reaches upwards of 20 to 30.  Rather than listing them all and providing videos for here, here’s every anime OP ever made:

5. What is your favorite anime ending song + animation?

Simple: xxxHOLiC’s second ED.  There are also a bunch of other endings that I love, too, but this one always comes to mind first.

6. What is your favorite anime scene?

There’s a certain scene in episode 9 of Aria the Origination (if you’ve seen it, you know which one) that makes me cry every single time I watch it.  There are only five or so scenes in all of anime where I’ve cried but this one has produced the most tears.  It overwhelms me every time, even when I know exactly what will happen and how it happens.  It still moves me, even after six viewings (and yes, six times I’ve cried).

7. If you could meet an anime character who would it be?

Good thing this question states “an anime character” rather than “anime characters” because this would be the start of a never ending list.  And to top that non-existant list would probably Setsuna from Needless.  I’d like to learn more about her than what’s in the anime/manga.

8. What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

I’m mainly independent, quiet but can be social when needed, often never serious, usually calm or mellow, and frequently trying to be intellectual about random stuff despite sometimes not knowing when I’m wrong or whatever.  Honestly, what character comes to mind first is Rintarou Okabe from Steins;Gate but I’m definitely not that cool or awesome of a character.

9. What is your favorite thing about anime?

My favorite thing about anime is that it’s fun.  Period.  If I didn’t enjoy anime, I wouldn’t watch it but I do and that’s why I watch it.  After that is the vast amount of creativity and thought that goes into each show, especially all the various settings we see.  Another major aspect of anime that I enjoy is seeing 2D animation which seems to be a dying art around the world given the frequency of 3D TV shows and movies being produced.  But mainly it’s because anime is fun.

10. What is your least favorite thing about anime?

My least favorite thing about anime is that they often are left incomplete or have anime original endings which completely disregard what the source material is trying to accomplish.  This is why I often feel that anime are just long advertisements for various products, either manga, BD or DVD, music, toys, figures, and other merchandise, rather than a story being told.

11. Who are your favorite anime couple?

Romantic couple?  I’d figure Lawrence and Horo from Spice and Wolf.  Non-romantic?  Probably Issac and Miria from Baccano!

12. Who is your favorite anime animal?

Maybe the three penguins from Mawaru Penguindrum or Kyubey from Puella Magi Madoka MagicaMenchi from Excel Saga is a prime candidate, too.

13. What anime would make a good game?

It really depends on how the games are designed what makes a game good or not but I’d love to see a fighting game with all the characters from Katanagatari.  Or really, you can just make a fighting game for most anime, I think those would be fun games.

14. What game would make a good anime?

Seeing how much I am enjoying Persona 4, I believe Persona 3 would be the best option since I’ve heard from friends that it was better than P4 (which I find hard to believe since P4 has Naoto but whatever).

15. What was the first anime you ever watched?

Probably Gatchaman which was aired as G-Force in the US on Cartoon Network.  Either that or Speed Racer.  First anime I watched that I knew was anime was Dragonball Z.

16. Do you think you’ll ever stop watching anime?

I’d like to think no, there will never be a time when I will stop watching anime but I believe there will be a time.  I never thought there’d be a time when I stopped playing video games but that happened years ago and I’m perfectly content with that (though I imagine my inner-child must be wailing).

17. What is your favorite genre of anime?

Comedy.  Though I hardly ever rate them 10/10, I love watching comedy anime.  Even if an anime has action or adventure or drama or whatever as a dominant genre, I’ll still enjoy it if the comedy is above average.

18. What is your least favorite genre of anime?

I always think it’s either horror or romance but friends who enjoy both genres have given me examples to prove my tastes aren’t always accurate.  I suppose that means it’s Sports but Chihayafuru is certainly a favorite of mine, so maybe it isn’t.  But for now, Sports, just because my love for sports in real life never matches well with what goes on in sports animes.

19. Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

Yeah but only if they enjoy it, too.  I wouldn’t watch anime with people who don’t already watch anime themselves but if someone were ever curious, I wouldn’t mind recommending a few shows to watch together knowing what they might like and what they wouldn’t.

20. Have you ever been to Japan?

Funny you should ask since I just came back from my first trip to Japan earlier today.  Only spent about 24 hours in the country (that includes airport/transportation/sleep, too, so only about 13 hours were actually time to do stuff) but it was amazing and I can’t wait to go back.

21. What anime was the biggest let down for you?

Guilty Crown or Fractale are good examples of anime I hyped up myself that turned out to be much worse than anticipated.  Eden of the East and Blood C are anime that were hyped by others that I thought would be great but turned out to never really enjoy.

22. What anime was better than expected?

I originally passed over Needless because it sounded boring or stupid or whatever and only began watching it because I was tired of Endless Eight in Haruhi that season (I picked it up about 5 weeks in).  Turns out Needless is near a perfect match for my tastes and opened pretty much every door of the anime community to me (but that’s a story for another day).  Ruin Explorers, The Tatami Galaxy, and Wandering Son also greatly surpassed expectations.

23. What is the best anime fight scene?

One of the reasons I got hooked on Needless was the series of battles in the Third Shelter.  Virtually the entire cast is involved, there are so many changes of tactics and strategies, various twists and tricks employed, countless changes in momentum, and vast amounts of character and setting development.  Plus the action was great, the comedy was golden, and the fanservice, though bothersome at times, helped make it a fun fight to watch and enjoy.

24. Who is your anime waifu?

Though I don’t treat her like a waifu or ever really think of her as one, it’d be Setsuna from Needless.  I respect her character much more than anyone else.

25. What was your favorite video game as a child?

Either any Mega Man or any Dragon Warrior (Dragon Quest).

Questions about Me

26. Most Embarrassing moment?

In the sixth grade, our school takes us on a camping trip.  I’ve blocked out most of the memories from that trip but I do recall hating every minute of it.  Everything about it was awful and probably the most embarrassing moment of it was ruining the group play we put on during the final night in front of the entire class.  I ruined a number of friendships that night.

27a. Can you drive?

Yup.

27b. Do you own a car?

Yup, a Chevy Cavalier.

28. Are you mature?

I tend to act silly or satirical most of the time but that’s just my style of being mature.

29. What year were you born?

1987 so I feel a bit older than most in the anime community.  Don’t know if that’s true or not.

30. Do you prefer cats or dogs?

Both are great and its completely situational.  I love all animals and I’d have different preferences depending on the current situation.

31. Describe yourself physically.

5’10”, 170#, average build, usually short, dirty blonde hair.  I’ve been told I look like Alex Kapranos of Franz Ferdinand or Neil Cicierega of Animutation/Potter Puppet Pals fame if that helps.

32. What would you name your first child?

Never really been certain about that.  I’ll probably end up letting my wife think of a name and then giving an approval or something.  For the sake of this question, though, I guess Alice for a girl and

33. What is the worst injury you have ever had?

I had an abscess that required an incision and drainage less than a day after being diagnosed.

34. What is your worse habit?

Probably turning down friends who invite me to stuff.

35. Do you drink or smoke?

I drink when I’m with others but never get shitfaced anymore. Never smoke.

36. Do you have a tattoo?

Nah.

37. Are you a morning person or a night person?

I can be either but I’m a night person currently.  Was a morning person before getting to college.

38. Have you ever slept past midday?

Of course.

39. Do you regret anything?

Sleeping past midday.

40. Can you count the number of friends you have on one hand?

Nah, can’t even count all my good friends with only one hand.

41. Do you wear glasses?

Yesh.

42. Are you a picky eater?

Yup, I’ve got a few food allergies, so I need to be careful.

43. Would you die for someone?

Totally.

44. If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

Speed has always been a favorite of mine and it’d probably be the one I’d end up with if it were randomly given to people but if I could choose, I’d like to have the ability to create anything.

45. Do you believe in the supernatural?

Not really but I do, sometimes, just to enjoy things more or to have fun with other people.

46. Would you rather be rich or famous?

Rich.

47. Have you ever committed a crime?

I believe traffic violations are as high as I go but those were only when I was a minor, so I believe not.

48. Time Traveler or Ghost?

Why not both?

49. Does someone have a crush on you?

To the best of my knowledge, no.

50. Are you in a relationship?

Nope.

Hope you enjoyed!  Will be doing episode posts again shortly!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Joojoobees on March 26, 2012 - 7:51 PM

    I loved Speed Racer as a kid. It made close to no sense, since no country would ever let them pull the stunts they do in that show, but it was great fun. I really enjoyed the way the Mach 5 was tricked out, my personal favorite being the robotic hawk.

    • #2 by avvesione on March 26, 2012 - 7:58 PM

      I remember watching and loving Speed Racer as a kid, probably one of my favorite cartoons when I was a kid. I’d like to watch it again if I ever get the opporitunity.

  2. #3 by Zammael on March 26, 2012 - 7:57 PM

    Thanks, and I’ve emailed my answers. :)

    • #4 by avvesione on March 27, 2012 - 12:14 AM

      Got your email, thanks for taking the time to write it up and send it to me.

  3. #5 by Marina on March 26, 2012 - 8:28 PM

    There are sooo many wonderful scenes in ARIA The Origination, including the one you mention. I also love the focus on ARIA company’s founding, as well as Alicia’s special moment at the end when it miraculously starts snowing. And I mustn’t forget Akari’s little head tilt at the dining table that perfectly echoes Alicia’s :)

    • #6 by avvesione on March 27, 2012 - 12:20 AM

      Yeah, there’s a reason Aria is 3rd on my list for top anime, largely due to how amazing Aria the Origination was. There were so many wonderful memories from that anime, especially the ferry episode and from 9 until the end and especially that ending. Truly a wonderful anime series that I strongly urge everyone to watch.

  4. #7 by AceRailgun on April 2, 2012 - 4:35 AM

    21. is exactly the same as me except that I only watched 15 minutes of the first episode of Fractale before realizing it wasn’t going to be good.

    48. Thinking outside the box. I can respect that.

    It seems like you are a big Needless fan so i’m going to have to check that out.

    • #8 by avvesione on April 2, 2012 - 6:51 AM

      Thanks for the comment, nice to see the guy who started this craze give his thoughts on my list.

      I tried to choose anime that I watched completely for #21 but if I choose an anime I dropped almost immediately, it would’ve been Akikan. But that would’ve been too easy.

      As for Needless, if you like comedy, action, and fanservice, a ridiculous plot, and a fun cast, then you should enjoy it and I hope you do.

      • #9 by AceRailgun on April 2, 2012 - 2:27 PM

        That’s alright.

        It funny that you mention Akikan too. I have no idea why I thought that might be a good anime. I watched 1 episode and then dropped it so quick.

        Well Needless sounds exactly what I like. I’ll check it out.

        • #10 by avvesione on April 2, 2012 - 3:46 PM

          Yeah, Akikan is pretty infamous for being terrible in every category.

          Hope you enjoy Needless. If you’re looking for something fun and silly, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

