Spring 2012 – Season Preview

With a number new of Spring anime airing over the next two weeks, it is again time for another comprehensive (or close to it) season preview.  This upcoming season appears to be brimming with optimistic hopefuls and candidates eager to display their best but the sheer number of anime debuting over the next few weeks creates some issues when determining a viewing schedule and for those with limited viewing capacity.  As with previous seasonal previews, this preview will focus toward my impressions toward each series and my initial likelihood of watching an anime, not watching an anime, and how I think the borderline anime will perform.  With that said, it’s time to explore the Spring 2012 anime season.

The number of sequels, remasters, and other parallel work this season appears to be quite abundant with second season to many popular anime.  After inspection of the list, it appears to be another season where most of the sequels are to anime I have yet to watch the first season of meaning I will not be watching anime like Eureka Seven AO, Fate/Zero (part 2), Haiyore! Nyaruko-san, Kimi to Boku 2, Nadia: The Secret of Blue Water (Remaster), Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle 2nd Season, Saint Seiya Omega, Saki: Achiga-hen episode of side-A, and Yurumates.  Of course, there are other works that fall into these categories but these are anime I am familiar with.  There is little to say about these works since it is a suggested recommendation to watch the previous works prior to watching these anime and those who already have done so have a better idea of what to expect than I do.  But for the anime I feel comfortable with, here are my thoughts:

Lupin III ~Mine Fujiko to Iu Onna~ (Lupin the Third ~The Woman Called Fujiko Mine)

Opinion: Though I haven’t seen the entirely to Lupin III, a massive super series that spans over four decades now, I’ve watched and loved plenty episodes of the TV series and other works, so that I feel I have enough of a background to understand and appreciate this series.  From what I understand about this anime, it isn’t necessary to watch any of the previous work since it seems designed to allow newcomers to be absorbed into the series but some background knowledge might enhance the experience.  Whether this is true or not has yet to be determined but that’s typically how these anime are presented.  Lupin has always been well received with me for its unique style and flawless combination of action, comedy, and adventure that never fails to entertain.  I can’t wait to see what this anime has in store for us.

Plans for this show: Likely watch

Kore wa Zombie desu ka? OF THE DEAD

(Warning: the PV is kinda NSFW)

Opinion: After originally dismissing Zombie last Winter when it aired, I picked it up at the recommendation of some friends because they believed I would enjoy the comedy aspects of the series.  How right they were.  While Zombie never really impressed me with much else (ended with a high 7), it was a delightful anime that had enough comedy, action, and fanservice to make it enjoyable in a fun and easy way.  I expect more of the same this season but perhaps with more focus on the story and characters.  I’d be more excited for this sequel if the story or characters hooked me but they never did and I’ll likely watch this anime for its high entertainment value rather what the story or the characters or whatever else this sequel attempts to do.

Plans for this show: Maybe watch

Queen’s Blade Rebellion

(Warning: the PV is NSFW)

Opinion: Yeah, I’ve watched more than enough of Queen’s Blade.  It actually has some decent attributes as an anime but is not that great of a series overall and I’m already heavily constrained on my time schedule for this Spring.  So while I’ve watched this franchise in the past, this season will definitely be a no.  Also, I’m unimpressed and even disgusted with most of the new character designs.  The only one that looks awesome is the miniskirt pirate, who I chose for the supplemental video, but I’ve already got an anime for that set aside for this season.

Plans for this show: No dice

What remains left is all the new anime that will debut this Spring.  The anime are listed in order of decreasing excitement and anticipation, though anime within the same category (such as “Likely watch” or “Maybe watch”) are listed alphabetically.  That means that the anime near the top of this list are the ones I’m expecting to keep for this season while the ones toward the end are ones that have an opportunity to prove their worth but are ones I expect to be outperformed by their peers and end up being dropped.  Following this list are the anime that are new this season but are shows I do not plan on watching or following at all.  With those clarifications out of the way, here’s the line-up of new anime for Spring 2012:

Sakamichi no Apollon (Kids on the Slope)

Opinion: Easily the anime I am most excited for this season, a magnificent concept of teenagers growing up, self-discovery, friendship, and probably the most apparent, jazz!  I am often weak for anime like these and the anime is behind outstanding minds including Shinichirou Watanabe (director) and Yoko Kanno (music composition), both of Cowboy Bebop and Macross Plus fame.  But what excites me the most about this anime is not the story, the characters, or who’s creating it but actually the setting.  The anime will take place in a sleepy seaside village in Japan in the 60s when American culture began to take root in the youth and influence people toward novel and innovative goals.  It just so happens that dominant theme is also jazz, a personal favorite of mine, so virtually every aspect of the series is something that is sure to please me, if it hasn’t done so already.

Plans for this show: Will watch

Jormungand

Opinion: Action and adventure headline this anime about a weapons dealer and her bodyguards as they tour the globe evading authorities and other entities out to get them while making a profit.  What sells this series for me, besides the fact that I already love the way the action is portrayed in this anime, is that it seems to have blend in some fun and comedy in it.  This keeps the anime from feeling too heavy or serious which is something that might bog down an anime that has a real adventurous component to it.  It appears to be balanced with a vibrant cast of characters and the attention to detail, at least in the PV, highlights the quality in production values this anime has.  This probably will be one of my favorites but I have yet to really examine the characters or the story, so there is an unknown factor about this anime I have yet to account for in setting my expectations for this anime.

Plans for this show: Likely watch

Uchuu Kyoudai (Space Brothers)

Opinion: Okay, so this anime involves space, so it’s automatically catching my attention but what solidifies this anime as one I have high hopes for is the story.  To summarize, two brothers make a promise to both become astronauts when they’re kids, hoping one day to realize their dreams.  Now adults, one brother has gone to the heavens as a pioneer in space travel and life among the stars while the other remains unemployed and stuck on Earth.  Upon receiving inspirational words from his younger brother, the older decides to realize his dream and join him in space, as an astronaut.  How awesome is that?  Space Bros will be a character centered anime bursting with character development in a rich setting that is ripe for adventure and drama.  The art style, though not my favorite, is quite different than the mainstream we see presently in anime and has caught my eye, another positive for a series that will definitely be on my watch list.

Plans for this show: Likely watch

ZETMAN

Opinion: A intermingling of various genres, including sci-fi, action, horror, superhero, and the supernatural, Zetman appears to be an intense and heavy anime dealing with saving mankind from annihilation at the hands of overwhelming and ruthless monsters.  It’s been a while since I’ve watched an anime with completely serious themes such as this and I’m eager to see what it has planned when it begins its broadcast.  The production values appear to be among the best this season with gorgeous artwork and fluid animation.  My only reservations with the series if it will be a bit much.  That is, I hope that this anime isn’t too heavy or overly dramatic that is disconnects the audience from itself or that it becomes over-the-top which isn’t likely to happen but still a possibility.  Nevertheless, I’m looking forward to this anime since I’ve been without this type for a few seasons now.

Plans for this show: Likely watch

Acchi Kocchi

Opinion: Acchi Kocchi is a high school romance anime with a tsundere female lead and a male lead oblivious to the female lead’s feelings.  You may wonder what it’s doing here because that synopsis parallels a number of anime I have disliked or dropped in the past.  Well, to be honest, I’m a bit curious how this anime will turn out since it does have some differences than the norm of this genre.  First, the comedy aspect of this anime is what caught my attention and still is the main reason I want to watch this anime (this is the first comedy of this preview besides Zombie, so I’m eager to find one or two I will watch this season).  Second, I find the chibi-esque art style charming which is always a plus.  Third, the main female has nekomimi and seeing those cat ears signals that this anime isn’t entirely set in reality, something that always bugged me in those high school-tsundere-romance animes I’ve watched in the past.  In fact, this anime somewhat reminds me of Nekogami Yaoyorozu a few seasons back which is a comedy I adored.  Should this anime resemble any of that but include romance and stuff, I will totally be fine with this anime.  If not, I may reconsider watching this for an entire season.

Plans for this show: Maybe watch

Hyouka

Opinion: At initial inspection, Hyouka appears to be just a bunch of high schoolers creating a friendship and having fun together like so many slice-of-life anime have become recently.  But beyond these mundane and tiring details are a plot that gives the anime a structure for which to progress and escape from a void of stagnation.  Hyouka is actually a mystery anime, despite how it seems, and that is enough for me to give the anime a more serious look most this season.  Though the studio producing this is Kyoto Animation and the anime does give me a K-On! vibe, I expect the anime to assert its independence as a series and difference itself from the other moe slice-of-life anime and be genuinely interesting.  That being said, I don’t expect the anime to be without moe anime elements, especially give its visual style and character designs, but I expect that it won’t be the anime and that the mystery will be enough to create character development and produce a linear and engaging story.  Though if it doesn’t and it turns into a silly high school romance anime, I wouldn’t be surprised but I sure would be disappointed.

Plans for this show: Maybe watch

Accel World

Opinion: Something about a loser high school boy meeting the prettiest (and smartest and most athletically gifted and most popular and all that other shit that these girls have) girl in high school and escaping to an alternative reality in a video game just turns me off of this anime faster than most.  Still, the concept of the video game reality has some merit and I don’t want to dismiss the anime based solely off its clichéd story when it might actually turn out better than most in its category.  I’m willing to give it a shot but I’m sure the routine romance elements will be enough to prevent any real enjoyment of this anime for me.

Plans for this show: Doubtful but it gets a shot

Natsuiro Kiseki

Opinion: Four high school girls, all friends, slice-of-life, yeah looks boring.  But the story and characters (who all happen to be voiced by J-Pop group, Sphere, of various anime theme song fame) aren’t why I have interest in this anime.  The setting is in rural Japan in a small seaside village, and if you haven’t figured out that is one of the settings I always love in anime, then having this anime here might very well be a surprise for you.  The art style, especially the landscaping, comes across as mediocre but it’s enough to create a world that feels dynamic and quite interesting.  Also, the character designs are quite attractive, too, which is always a plus when an anime is about various girls doing nothing together.  Still, an anime can’t exist on setting and art alone and I’m sure the lack of story and character development will doom this anime for me.

Plans for this show: Doubtful but it gets a shot

Nazo no Kanojo X (Mysterious Girlfriend X)

Opinion: Mysterious Girlfriend X is another romance anime that fails to really stimulate my interest in it but it does have some decent points which is why I plan on giving this anime a chance.  For one, there seems to be a mystery element to the series reflected in the fact that this series is called “Mysterious Girlfriend X” for a reason.  The lead female, Mikoto Urabe, seems different enough from the usual moe girl stereotype that she may differentiate the show from the rest of this genre but I have my doubts on if she’ll be able to carry it.  I’m sure some of her behavior will be played out to the comedy in this series, another point I am happy with in this anime, but I’m curious how long jokes about sleeping in class or keeping scissors in your panties will last.  Oh, I guess there will be an ecchi element to it, too, though that will either be good or bad depending on how the male lead handles it.  Overall, I doubt I will watch this anime but it certainly deserves an episode to prove itself before ultimately saying yes or no.

Plans for this show: Doubtful but it gets a shot

Sankarea

Opinion: Like Mysterious Girlfriend X above, this anime appears to have elements of romance, school, ecchi, and comedy though in differing amounts compared to the rest.  And rather than have a mysterious girlfriend like before, this one is about a girl who is obsessed with zombies.  I imagine there will be various jokes regarding this anime and Kore Zombie due to concurrent airings.  But this anime, on its own, doesn’t appear to encourage me to watch it because it seems fairly standard or clichéd as a romance anime.  The only differing factor is that it’s about zombies, too, but that isn’t enough to make it unique in any way.  The anime will get a chance to prove its worth but this is another one that will likely be dismissed by me for this season.

Plans for this show: Doubtful but it gets a shot

Shining Hearts ~Shiawase no Pan~ (Shining Hearts: Bread of Happiness)

Opinion: The fantasy setting is the main reason why I am interested in this anime but after that, there is not much.  The cast and story seem rather generic for a fantasy anime to me and the abundance of CGI animation creates a bit of unease for me in how it will handle animation throughout, especially character animation and kinetics.  I may end up not even giving this anime an episode to test its worth because its among the lowest within this category but it still remains here largely due to the its setting.

Plans for this show: Doubtful but it gets a shot

Tasogare Otome x Amnesia

Opinion: Again, we have another romance anime with elements of the supernatural and mystery and school and all that stuff.  I’m beginning to see a pattern to this season and, unfortunately, it’s a pattern I don’t plan to be a part of.  Of the several anime that share these elements, this one appears to have the highest degree of seriousness and horror, involving a murder mystery as its main plot point.  That, alone, is enough to raise it above the others though I’m not sure how the mystery and romance will be played together and how I will receive these elements.  The art and animation are above the average for this season which is a plus but that won’t be enough to save this anime if its story and characters can’t support this anime by themselves.

Plans for this show: Doubtful but it gets a shot

Tsuritama

Opinion: Despite being a noitiminA anime, I have virtually zero interest in this anime.  The story is about a high school loner who makes friends with three other guys and then becomes the center of a some huge, world-changing event.  As you can assume from previous entries, the setting is the aspect I’m most interested in with this anime and the art looks stellar, too, but the cast is what dooms this anime for me.  Haru, the blonde haired boy who claims to be an alien really pisses me off.  Like seriously, I hate him after watching only a few PVs, I hate that type of character.  Having the lead be a loner with no friends is also a classic sign that I probably won’t like him either.  The other two seem fine but the fact that the two main characters are archetypes that I cannot stand will be enough for me not to watch this anime.  I do, however, expect this anime to be well-received, quite popular, and a topic of detailed discussion among the anime community.  I’ve seen plenty of hype for this anime already but its something I just can’t, and probably won’t, be a part of.  That being said, I’ll give it a shot, but I don’t even expect to make it through the first episode.

Plans for this show: Doubtful but it gets a shot

Upotte!!

Opinion: So this anime is about girls who are guns who fire guns at an academy for guns or something?  It’s a silly premise that may or may not be entertaining and fun (likely no) but it is worth checking out to see how bizarre this concept is.  The art style reminds me of Kanokon and Ladies vs. Butlers, two strikes against the series already, but not the same level of ecchiness that those two had.  I am curious what kinda character development moe assault rifles will get in an anime like this and what the story will be but I’m not bored enough to keep this anime around to find out.  One episode should be enough to satisfy my curiousity and then that’s probably it for this anime.  If it is something revolutionary or wildly entertaining, I may keep it, but at this point, I’m planning on only giving it… just one shot.

Plans for this show: Doubtful but it gets a shot

Below are the anime that I have little to no interest in yet are posted here to help others explore and decide for themselves.  However, I’ll provide my take on these anime and explain why I am not planning on watching these anime this season.  However, there are often times an anime from this category that outperforms my initial expectations and makes its way into my viewing schedule.  Should be fun to see which one of these joins the others and see how it performs at the end of the anime season.

AKB0048

Opinion: Nah, not a big fan of idol anime or at least idol anime without Kikuchi Makoto.

Plans for this show: No dice

Kuroko no Basuke

Opinion: Never been a fan of sports animes, especially shounen ones, so this one will be skipped without even needing to think about it.

Plans for this show: No dice

Medaka Box

Opinion: Forgot about this anime in the original post, so adding it in now.  Regardless of that error, this anime still does not impress me.  I’ve never really liked school club/class president anime before, so I don’t see any reason why I’d enjoy this.

Plans for this show: No dice

Also worth noting is that a few anime have already started including Hiiro no Kakera, Ozuma, Ginga e Kickoff!!, Koi-ken! and a few others.  Because these anime have already aired, I plan to cover them in my First Impressions posts though the only one getting a shot right now is Ozuma while the others are being passed over (neither seemed to interest me).  I’ve also tried to limit the number of shorts (3-4 minute anime) in this preview since they’re often difficult to preview due to a general lack of information on them.

And with that, we’re through with all the new anime and sequels for the Spring 2012 anime season.  For me, only one anime is continuing from the Winter 2012 season, Mouretsu Pirates, so there are numerous slots open for me to watch new anime.  However, that doesn’t mean there will be competition for the lower slots and I anticipate watching under 10 anime this season with two that are posted episodically and the rest summarized in weekly posts.  Now that the Spring season preview is complete, up next will be the First Impressions posts which will provide insight into what anime make my viewing schedule, which ones are dropped, and what I think about each anime individually.  Stick around, this next season will certainly be exciting and thoroughly entertaining.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by azeriraz on March 31, 2012 - 5:08 AM

    Don’t worry about Jormungand being too heavy – unless White Fox completely ignores the manga, the main character will provide plenty of comedy

    • #2 by avvesione on March 31, 2012 - 11:45 PM

      Music to my ears. I’m getting really excited for Jorm now and I’m thinking about possibly blogging it for the Spring season. My plans are still up in the air but it likely will be one of my favorites this season.

      • #3 by azeriraz on April 1, 2012 - 10:19 PM

        Yeah I was considering blogging Jormungandand/or Zetman since both seem to be right up my alley. Would love to blog either Tsuritama or Sakamichi no Apollon but they are not really within my usual area of expertise

        • #4 by avvesione on April 2, 2012 - 12:56 AM

          If you have the time, it’s always fun to do something outside your comfort zone and see how you do and where it takes you. I did that last year with Softenni (reading my first and final posts shows you what I learned) and I’m thinking about doing that again this season.

          For now, I do plan on blogging Sakamichi no Apollon and Jormungand as two for this season and I may or may not pick up a third. Good luck deciding what you want to blog this season!

  2. #5 by Zammael on March 31, 2012 - 12:29 PM

    Besides the majestic Fate/Zero and the on-going Mouretsu Pirates, here are the shows I’m looking forward to:

    Mysterious Girlfriend X
    Zetman
    Bros in Space
    : I’ve read the manga so expectations are high.

    The rest seem standard fare, but I’ll be relying on your observations on which pass muster.

    • #6 by avvesione on March 31, 2012 - 11:48 PM

      Have you followed any Lupin at all? If so, I think you’d appreciate the new Lupin TV that’s airing this season. And the other ones listed at the top, specifically Apollon and Jormungand, might be worth checking out on your own since they seem to have high production values and unique stories, characters, and settings. Then again, I have no clue how much time you can set aside for this season, so I’ll do my best with my impressions and I hope I can help you find something you will enjoy.

      • #7 by Zammael on April 1, 2012 - 7:56 AM

        I forgot to add Lupin to the list!

        Since I’m in grad school I don’t have the luxury of watching as many anime as I like, so I need to choose my shows wisely.

        • #8 by avvesione on April 1, 2012 - 8:06 AM

          Yeah, I miss my days of being an undergrad, I had so much more free time everyday and it was nowhere near as stressful. Then again, I have enough time in grad school to work part-time, watch almost a dozen anime, manage a blog (mostly), and still see friends and family. Guess I shouldn’t bitch since after this it gets worse though…

  3. #9 by Myst on March 31, 2012 - 10:06 PM

    Wow, nice season preview!

    Like you mentioned, the main draw for Shining Hearts (at least for me) is the fantasy setting. I agree with your concerns about it as well, but I think I have a bit more hope for it partially because one of my friends played the original RPG and really enjoyed it. Which doesn’t guarantee anything, but I do think that Shining Hearts could go either way.

    Also, I highly recommend watching Fate/Zero if you have the time this season. It was my favorite show from last year and was one of the best as well.

    • #10 by avvesione on March 31, 2012 - 11:52 PM

      Yeah, I’ve seen some more hype for Shining Hearts and found some friends who plan on watching it, so I’m warming up to it a bit more but I don’t think it’ll be a show I keep this season. It’ll get an episode to prove otherwise and, if it does, then I wouldn’t mind keeping it around for the next 12-13 weeks.

      For Fate/Zero, I plan on watching/playing Fate/Stay Night first and then catching up. I know tons of friends watching it and loving and I know I’d enjoy it, too, but I want to start from the beginning. I did watch an episode of it while in Tokyo earlier this week and it was actually better than I imagined, so I’ll try to do it sooner rather than later. But still, even if I move it up to the front of my queue and marathon through it in its entirety, I won’t be able to watch it when it airs this season. I apologize for that.

      • #11 by Zammael on April 1, 2012 - 2:17 AM

        Fate/Stay night takes place after Fate/Zero so there’s no point in watching it and spoiling yourself on what might be the greatest anime in years with some standard fare for kids. I myself didn’t watch Fate/Stay night and don’t plan to.

        • #12 by avvesione on April 1, 2012 - 2:24 AM

          Yeah, but I’m kinda anal about things and always try to do an entire series in chronological order if at all possible. Unless something incredible happens, I’ll be putting off Fate/Zero for a later date. Doesn’t mean I don’t plan on watching it, just that I don’t plan on watching it now.

  4. #13 by Zammael on April 2, 2012 - 11:13 PM

    Accel World certainly has interesting scifi premises, but its blatant riding of shounen tropes turned me off.

    The MC character design is too ridiculous to take seriously, and the women are the spitting images of Inouri from Guilty Crown. Don’t fail me now Zetman!

    • #14 by avvesione on April 3, 2012 - 2:48 AM

      Yeah, I’m working on a first impressions post that covers Accel World, so I’ll get my thoughts out there but I’ve heard good things about Zetman already which is always a positive sign.

  5. #15 by Detetiv on April 3, 2012 - 5:26 PM

    Isn’t Zetman based from the manga & Lupin the 3rd different voice actors in this new one? [I've watched Dc vs Lupin & a few eps of Lupin when it used to be on at Adult Swim's "dead hour" with Detective Conan]

    Probly going to watch some Eureka 7 AO, Phi Brain s2, Saint Sayia & continue with Kamen Rider Fourze/Super Sentai GoBusters. I should look when the rehash of S-cry-ED comes out… Did that come out already? I forget.

    • #16 by avvesione on April 3, 2012 - 8:36 PM

      Yup, Zetman is based off the manga and I’m sure Lupin has different voice actors, especially since it sounds like you were watched the dub rather than the original Japanese =P (but yeah, they’re different than the original Lupin from 40 years ago).

      Sounds like from your lineup that you’re watching a bunch of shows that are sequels or part of a series or something you’re already familiar with. Why not try a couple new shows, too, and see if you like them? You never know if you’ll fall in love with a new series otherwise!

      • #17 by Detetiv on April 3, 2012 - 9:45 PM

        I remember hearing somewhere that pretty much all the voice actors for Lupin the 3rd are different.
        To clarify: I’ve seen both, since Detective Conan vs Lupin the 3rd only exists in Sub format. [Case Closed is disgusting here in the us, I refuse to watch it dubbed]

        I still need to watch all 50+ episodes of Dairanger [Which our 2nd seson of MMPR used clips & such from… I got side tracked on episode 3.

        Maybe, there’s still quite a few titles I haven’t watched this season like the new Kaito KID special, DOT//Hack movie [I don't think it came out], BLACK JACK: Movie & among other titles. [Need to watch Black Jack cause that's a old classic]

        • #18 by avvesione on April 3, 2012 - 10:13 PM

          Ah, didn’t see you only mean the Lupin/Conan movie. Checked some of the VA between that and this one and looks like Lupin and Jigen are the only ones who are the same.

          And wow, you’ve got quite the schedule lined up for yourself. If you can spare some time for an episode or two, it might be a nice change of pace to try something new this season and see if it catches your interest or not. It’s something I always recommend people do if they can do it, so maybe in your case, it’d be best to finish what you started and go from there.

        • #19 by Detetiv on April 3, 2012 - 10:19 PM

          That’s the newest Lupin the 3rd I’ve watched. I always seem late to the party for shows… XD [That reminds me I never did catch up w p4a...] oops?

        • #20 by avvesione on April 4, 2012 - 1:07 AM

          Did you at least watch Chihayafuru? I’m writing my post to recap the entire Winter season and it’s my top anime. Second is P4 which I loved, too. After that are the rest which are still being written and sorted out.

        • #21 by Detetiv on April 4, 2012 - 3:30 AM

          Off & on I’ve been watching Chihayafuru. I remember bits & pieces

        • #22 by avvesione on April 4, 2012 - 10:35 AM

          Yeah, Chihayafuru is an amazing anime, one of my all-time favorites. Hope you enjoy the rest of it when you’re able to watch it!

  6. #23 by Ruff on April 4, 2012 - 3:07 AM

    What about Naruto and stuff? They got a Naruto SD xD

    • #24 by avvesione on April 4, 2012 - 10:37 AM

      They do, yeah, and I guess I lumped it together with the other kiddies anime that I never review or consider to watch. Since I have no knowledge of anything Naturo and probably wouldn’t get the full appreciation of the series (though I do like gag comedies) I won’t be watching it. But if people rave about it and you don’t need any prior knowledge of the franchise, then maybe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

