12 Days of Anime (2012) – Day 11 – Joining the Anime Community on Twitter

medaka_box_abnormal-08-onigase-nekomi-twitter-cell_phones-comedy-friendsAlthough I officially joined Twitter on Christmas Day last year, it was 2012 when I discovered the bustling, chatty and sociable anime community there and began to frequent the service on a regular basis.  In my entire first year of blogging, I failed to capitalize on the dynamic resource that was Twitter which supports a lively community of numerous anime- and manga-fans.  Most other anime bloggers have accounts and use the media platform as a means to communicate with each other.  So throughout 2012, I began to use the service to connect with other anime- and manga-fans which had an unfathomable affect and influence on how I watch and appreciate anime.

hyouka-05-houtarou-cell_phone-sister-surprised-wrong-detectiveOver the course of the year, various moments and opportunities arose for which the anime community on Twitter had some positive affect on my anime and manga experiences.  Perhaps the most notable is how various people influenced me to pick up an anime I never gave a chance to before and watch it and its sequel this year (the subject of a post later on in this series).  Not only that but other anime I had zero- to little-interest in, I found myself curious and drawn into it purely through other excitement and speculation.  This is obviously the greatest influence that this social anime community has had on me, helping me find anime that I had missed previously or would’ve missed and motivating me to watch them and enjoy them like any other.  And if the impact were merely this alone, it would’ve made the 12 Days list due to that alone.  However, the online anime community was able to do much more than just that.

miari_nikki-14-akise-plan-cell_phone-trickOther instances of how the online anime community influenced my anime experience over the year largely revolve around the conversational aspect of Twitter.  This includes holding conversations about lesser-known or underappreciated anime this year, like Acchi Kocchi, Sengoku Collection, and most recently with Kamisama Kiss, and being able to recognize fans who share the same appreciation for these anime as I do.  The opposite is also true, especially for anime where it was more entertaining to make fun of them than to watch them seriously.  What these people were able to do here were enhance the anime and turn it into something meaningful and worthwhile.  Even if it meant a few more laughs or smiles or whatever, the online anime community helped improve the anime I already watch and has even guided me into watching new shows.  Additionally, finding out about certain news articles or other discussion points helped enhance or hurt a few anime this year, too.

sakamichi_no_apollon-05-kaoru-tin_can-string-telephone-listening-seriousFurthermore, throughout the year, I was able to connect with many other bloggers in ways I never possibly imagined.  Previously, I had merely resorted to commenting on various blogs which restricted conversations somewhat in terms of conversation and subject.  However, with the use of Twitter as a means of holding public conversations, one in which anyone is free to join or listen, I found myself conversing with many people I had followed before and was able to connect to many new people and their blogs.  Through this, I found myself becoming more and more a part of another anime community that separates itself from the animeblogosphere and into one more dynamic, instantaneous and lively.  Although this seems to be merely an extension of the blogosphere, just under the format of a social media website, it allowed me to branch out and explore various other anime and manga blogs and meet the people and fans that power the online anime community.

tasogare_otome_x_amnesia-01-yuuko-teiichi-ghost-cell_phone-comedyOf course, with such a general and narrow explanation of how the online anime community has impacted my anime experience over the year, there are some details omitted and influences not mentioned.  Likewise, I am unable to determine what effect it has had on other tidbits, too, such as browsing Tumblr and Pixiv for images and artwork, understanding more about certain niche communities within the anime fandom, and so on and so forth.  However, the impression that the anime community on Twitter has had for me is unquestionably positive and certainly one of the greatest, most unforgettable influences of the year on how I watch, experience, and appreciate anime and manga.

jormungand-10-schokolade-comedy-happy-excited-phone

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by windyturnip on December 15, 2012 - 2:17 PM

    I’ve never liked Twitter for the same reasons I don’t like Facebook. There’s too much useless information to sift through, and I usually don’t find it worth it in the end. I think a good variety of blogs plays the same role while maintaining a higher quality. Then again, social media isn’t exactly my forte.

    • #2 by avvesione on December 16, 2012 - 7:02 PM

      What I like about Twitter is that you can choose when and where you wanna pay attention to conversations. You can always add your thoughts anywhere you want and, if you don’t want to, you can sit back, relax, and enjoy what other people are doing (or just leave and go to another site). There is quite a bit of information to go through, though, but most of it is trivial or fun stuff. All the great and high-quality writing is still found on everyone’s blogs, so if you only want that, then maybe it’s best to just stick with the blogs.

  2. #3 by Shinmaru on December 15, 2012 - 2:46 PM

    Twitter is basically the ideal message board for me. I can jump in and out of conversations with ease and not be too confused if I have to leave for a few hours. I like a place where I don’t have to spend an absurd amount of time to get something out of it.

    Also, meeting Twitter folk is cool. Crossing my fingers for SakuraCon!

    • #4 by avvesione on December 16, 2012 - 7:06 PM

      That’s one of the things I enjoy about Twitter is that everything is all there in one, straightforward stream rather than a message board with dozens of random, different topics that require going back and forth. Had there been the same anime community on a giant forum, I probably would not have had the same experience as I did through Twitter since it’s more direct, personal, and, in a sense, social than the standard message board format.

      Also, hope you’re able to make it to SakuraCon this year!!

  3. #5 by Zammael on December 15, 2012 - 4:24 PM

    I admit not using twitter as much when it comes to anime, probably because most tweeters whose blogs I follow do not know how to tweet anything more substantial than trivial, self-indulgent trivia – like Facebook status updates. And since you do retweet anime-related tweets, that’s good enough for me. :)

    • #6 by avvesione on December 16, 2012 - 7:09 PM

      You know, I’m actually the opposite when it comes to that kinda stuff. I often like the trivial, random, and spastic nature of tweet since it shows off a side of bloggers you never see on their blogs. It really adds a personal, comical side to these writers and fans that we never see which is something that I enjoy and appreciate from Twitter. It helps open up the anime community a bit more than just various blog posts and editorials, especially since it has that intimate and open-ended side that comments sections kinda lack.

      • #7 by Zammael on December 16, 2012 - 9:38 PM

        I understand, and I do appreciate the human side of “online personalities,” but there’s a distinction between Facebook and twitter: On Facebook, you’re exposed to the ignorance of your friends. On Twitter, you’re exposed to the wit of strangers.

        I don’t need new friends on Twitter. I got plenty in real life, and I would prefer to expose myself to only wit and substance online. Hence, the people I know IRL that I follow on Twitter, I mute them on Echofon if they’re just using Twitter like Facebook.

        • #8 by avvesione on December 18, 2012 - 3:34 AM

          I like how you differentiate between Facebook and Twitter… it’s surprisingly true for the most part. And because of that, because you only want intelligent and worthwhile things online, I can see why the non-serious aspects of Twitter aren’t appealing.

          I guess for me, I don’t care how much stupidity is in my life, as long as I’m happy!

        • #9 by Zammael on December 18, 2012 - 8:58 AM

          Right, Facebook is a true social network. But Twitter is a media slash marketing vechicle masquerading as a social network. On Facebook you make connections with people you care to keep in touch with. Twitter allows you to follow crucial subjects or people or conversations that are important to you. One is intimate, the other is detached.

  4. #10 by Astereae on December 15, 2012 - 9:43 PM

    I used my account for awhile, but got rid of it. Did not serve much of a purpose to me nor did it help me with blogging. Might consider reusing it, since I have another account I never did touch much, lol.

    • #11 by avvesione on December 16, 2012 - 7:12 PM

      My Twitter account doesn’t do much for me in terms of promoting my blog (many links often range between 0-1 clicks) but it certainly has helped open up the rest of the anime community to me and has helped improve how I watch anime (the subject of this post). I’ve also been exposed to a number of other people and blogs that I didn’t know about before, not to mention all of the other links to various pics, videos, news, and whatnot around the community, too. It might be worth checking into if you care about that stuff and have the time or resources.

  5. #12 by illogicalzen on December 16, 2012 - 5:09 AM

    You basically have to make twitter work for you – if you just want to post random thoughts that is fine, but there is so much more that it can do.

    • #13 by avvesione on December 16, 2012 - 7:15 PM

      Exactly, which is why I try to use it to connect with others, often asking them questions or tossing my opinion out if it’s the opposite or counter to theirs. The best use I have gotten from twitter is to posit random questions and see what kind of response I get. This is especially useful since the anime community on Twitter is so diverse, the range of responses is broad which makes the answers all quite unique and interesting.

      But yeah, you’re correct about needing to make Twitter work for you in order to get the most out of it.

  6. #14 by Joojoobees on December 16, 2012 - 6:51 PM

    I’ve always thought that twitter is a great mechanism for adding context to URLs. In ther words some URL already exists, but even if you knew it did, would you click on it? As someone said above, there is soooo much stuff out there. However, Twitter gives anyone who wants to do so the ability to give the URL a little context (“this should be criminal”, “just snorted milk out of my nose”, “Wittgenstein’s theory of language”, “newest worst song in the world”), just a little snippet that might help someone else find information that you found worthwhile.

    Of course it can be other things as well, but it just seems to be perfect for these little bits of context and a link.

    • #15 by avvesione on December 16, 2012 - 7:19 PM

      That’s true, and that’s a point I did not focus on in this post. I use Twitter more for the conversational aspects than various links and whatnot, but often times the links are what generate these conversations and get me to look at other anime I am not interested in or had dropped previously. And the words added to the URL are almost always what start these conversations whether “this looks amazing” “why are they doing this to my anime?” or whatever, it helps show the opinion of the person, which in turn starts the conversation, which is what I find most appealing about the service. You make a great point about it and how it helps compared to other anime communities out there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 302 other followers

