Summer 2011 – Week 3 – Short Thoughts

Interested in some quick opinions each week on the 15 anime I’m currently watching this summer?

I decided earlier this summer to only do episodic posts on three shows instead of the normal four and use the free time to do a post with my thoughts or something short about everything I’m watching.  The third week has already occurred, and it’s about time I get around to posting something about what thoughts, issues, questions, or whatever I have on each show.  And yeah, I’m borrowing the title from that Nichijou skit that I enjoy so much.

Since this is the first time of the season, it might be good to know I did pick up Kamisama Dolls and The iDOLM@STER and am watching a few of those short 3-4 minute animes, being Nyanpire, Morita-san wa Mukuchi, and Double J (only because I love the ED sequence for Double J).  I probably won’t say anything about those since they’re pretty short and meaningless but I’ll keep watching them since they’re just that, short and meaningless.  Just like this paragraph.

Anyway, onto the heart of this post, here are this week’s short thoughts on the 15 shows I’m watching this summer (series appear in alphabetical order):

Ao no Exorcist – The fighting sequences and other general action sequences are very well done and are, without a doubt, my favorite aspect of this series.  I’m hoping for more scenes like this in the next few episodes.  The chemistry among the classmates have been steadily improving but I still can’t find myself caring for anyone outside of Rin, Shiemi, and Yukio.  Oh well.

Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu II – Is it just me or does the female cast of BakaTest seem less funny this season than the first one?  They seem to be doing a lot of the build-up for the male cast gags/punchlines in these first three episodes.  Hopefully that changes but I’m still laughing with only the male cast doing most of the work.  Also loved the first half of episode three with Hideyoshi and Yuuko and I hope to see more of them together like that this season.

Blood-C – This series can be best described as water mixed with oil.  The two halves of the series could not clash harder, between nonsensical school bullshit and the engaging, dark fight sequences.  There is no connection between the two halves, not even Saya is the same.  Hopefully they begin to merge together because it’s pretty hard to watch the way it is.  And I figured the iDOLM@STER would have the most singing of any anime this season but Blood-C certainly has that and all other anime beat.

Dantalian no Shoka – During the first episode, I hated it when Dalian would say, in English “Yes”.  It seemed unnecessary and strange.  Now, I don’t seem to mind it and actually enjoy it when she says it happily, accompanied with that delightful smile of hers.  I also wonder if Huey and Dalian will travel the globe or if all the books are situated within a few miles of his new mansion.

Hanasaku Iroha – You knew they were going to have character development for some of the less interesting characters in the series, like Enishi, so thankfully that’s over.  I wonder if they’ll use the pool in future episodes now that it has been cleaned and filled.  Might be fun to see people use it now it’s ready to use and seeing it put to use, after being a minor point in the past two episodes, will make me happy.

Ikoku Meiro no Croisée – The number of different kimonos Yune has worn is approaching double digits now.  This is the most I’ve paid attention to a character’s clothes in an anime, mainly because they never change (unless it’s between school uniform and casual wear) and therefore are pointless to focus on.  But it’s not surprising that this caught my attention since Yune wears cheerfully colored and elegantly patterned kimonos whereas everyone else wears white and neutral colors (except Alice now).  I wonder if they’ll ever give us a specific year for this time frame or if they’ll just keep it as the end of the 19th century.

Kamisama Dolls – I really haven’t developed any feelings for this anime but decided to keep watching it because there hasn’t been a good reason to drop it yet.  One thing I’ll say about the series now is that I really like the facial expressions in this anime and how they seem over exaggerated.  They fit the art style of the anime well, even if I feel ‘meh’ regarding the art style as a whole.  I feel a pretty predictable ending is in store for this anime with how the story is going.

Mawaru Penguindrum – I’m dying to see what the Penguindrum is and am pretty hooked on all this exploration for it.  I wouldn’t be surprised if we’ve seen Ringo have/use it already in these past two episodes and it just passed right before our inattentive eyes.  But it’s so easy to distract our attention with the colorful art and humorous comedy.  Kinda wonder what would happen if anyone else wore the Pengiun Hat that Himari wears.

Nekogami Yaoyorozu – This is the kinda anime that I passionately love and adore that other people find mediocre and ordinary as an anime.  But every episode I watch with a smile on my face for whatever reason, even if I find flaws in the anime or if the jokes aren’t funny at all.  But I still love it and I wish more people would give it a chance.

Nichijou – With Nano at school now, it seems like the entire cast has become the four girls and we’ve seen fewer segments with the other, lesser characters.  Sure, we’re still getting some, especially more with Kana, the science teacher with the short, blue hair (who I love but is second to my favorite, Mio… who also has short, blue hair… hmmm…) but we really haven’t seen anything major with the Principal, Annaka, or Tsuyoshi, except when they’re minor roles in other people’s gags.  Also, I don’t care what people say, but that did not look like a crow in anyway.  I will always think of it as an umbrella with legs that has a hole in the top.

No.6 – The futuristic, totalitarian dystopia in No.6 is probably my favorite setting of the season and I hope No.6 uses it to the very best of its potential.  I do like the conflicting view points between Shion and Nezumi, not only on what they want to do regarding the potential plague that could hit the city but on other issues as well.  Kinda wonder when they’ll cross those giant walls and back to the city from these slummy, lawless areas.  Doesn’t seem like a whole lot is going on in this area, except maybe some self-discovery and learning for Shion.

Steins;Gate – Is there or will there ever be a map or diagram that details the route Okabe has taken through time and all the events that have occurred?  Because that would clear up a lot of misunderstandings and mysteries at the end of this storyline.  There are countless events that we’ve forgotten that have yet to be uncovered or even linked to other events.  At least we’re getting some answered every so often, which is nice, but there’s still so much left.  I also miss the gel bananas and hope they make an appearance in the series sometime soon.

The iDOLM@STER – I figured the entire cast of Idolmaster would either make or break the series and it seems like they’re planning to spend an episode focusing on each character for this first part of the season.  A good idea so that every group of fans has an episode to look forward to but to outsiders, it’s going to get irksome quickly.  Until I get my Makoto episode, that is.  And there were some opportunities in the third episode for some intelligent and meaningful dialogue, such as explaining to the girls that when they were needed to help out set up their performance that they can see and understand all the background work and people required for each of their concerts to work and function properly.  It would’ve been nice to see the girls appreciate all the hard work and money that goes into each performance but no, they just used it for comedy.  I’m hoping there are reflective and learning scenes in this anime but I won’t hold my breath after that huge miss.

Tiger & Bunny – I wonder if the children are responsible for the decline in a NEXT’s power during their adulthood.  Seeing Mr. Legend and Tiger lose their powers at the same time as Lunatic and Kaede gain theirs makes sense in that regard but I’m wondering why.  What mechanisms are at work so that the powers are ‘transferred’ between beings?  Even though the comedy has taken a backseat this summer, this anime still gets me to laugh more than most of the comedy anime I’m watching.

Usagi Drop – I’m kinda eager to see Rin make friends her age, besides her niece’s daughter, Reina.  Seeing her interact with other kids around her age would show off another side of her personality we have yet to see.  Guess we’ll see soon since she should be in a permanent school soon.  Hopefully that leads to some new friendships for Rin and perhaps Daikichi, too, considering he would likely meet the new child’s parent.

I’m planning on doing this weekly over the summer and, depending on how I feel about this style/format/purpose, I may or may not keep it for future seasons.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Justin on July 26, 2011 - 3:39 PM

    Oh god, 15 animes? NOO!!! Do not torture yourself so!!!

    Also, Cat God (especially its third ep) is hilarious.I personally like it. I still don’t know if I’m going to continue it! Little did I realize this was going to be so tough! Though figuring out the bottom shows requires no challenge (well, the good thing is the bad shows separated themselves from the “Name I will no longer mention because it was worse than bad” show).

    • #2 by avvesione on July 26, 2011 - 4:17 PM

      It’s the summer, so I don’t have school+work eating up most of my time, meaning watching 15 shows isn’t too bad. I still probably put more time each week into watching random youtube videos and mindlessly surfing the web than anime.

      As for Cat God, I hope it makes your top 8 and you keep watching it. I think it’s the most underrated anime this season, seeing I have more fun watching that than anything else this season.

  2. #3 by SStefania on July 27, 2011 - 1:14 AM

    Soo… I dropped IDOLM@STER after the first episode, but yeah, if they’re going to make a Makoto centered episode, I’ll watch it eagerly. Hope you’ll write about it.
    You summarized Blood-C pretty good and that gave me idea why I couldn’t stand it – Saya acts like she has split personality or evil twin, she’s not the same.
    Good luck with watching 15 shows – I am watching 6 out of 11 that I tried and it’s still too many for me, so yeah, and I am going to keep an eye on your descriptions and thoughts.

    • #4 by avvesione on July 27, 2011 - 8:58 PM

      Thanks, I’m glad you found this type of post useful and were kind enough to give your own personal thoughts on the season, too. I’ll write a bit about the Makoto episode when it airs but just to the extent I did in this post (a few thoughts or opinions). And I hope you’re able to keep up on your 6 shows you’re watching (hopefully those 6 are ones I’m watching, too). I realize 15 is a lot and is more than I anticipated but it really hasn’t affected much of my summer except I’ve been playing fewer video games and spending less time surfing the net mindlessly.

  3. #5 by Spartan1590  on July 27, 2011 - 3:57 PM

    I dropped Croisée because I think it’s boring for me. Steisn Gate and Ao no Exorcist I’m still wathcing and loving it, mostly SG.

    This season the best until now are No. 6 and Usagi Drop, also Penguindrum is interesting!

    I’ll start reading this blog, really good ;D

    • #6 by avvesione on July 27, 2011 - 9:02 PM

      Thanks for the comment. Sorry to hear about Croisée but after watching the first episode, I could tell it wasn’t for everyone. At least you gave it a shot.

      And it sounds like you and I have very similar opinions about the anime this season. Steins;Gate, Usagi Drop, No.6, and Penguindrum are 4 of my top 5 right now and Ao no Exorcist is rising due to the last few episodes. Hope you enjoy my blog and I look forward to reading your comments in the future!

  4. #7 by tsurugiarashix on July 29, 2011 - 5:18 PM

    Currently have about 17 shows on my list (2 on hold in favor of BD/DVD releases and time). No.6 I have not even considered watching, but my girlfriend seems to like it alright (BL themes?). Anyway, Summer 2011 season is relatively nice, but think I will be happy when Fall 2011 rolls around even more ^^

    • #8 by avvesione on July 29, 2011 - 10:54 PM

      No.6 would be about my second or third favorite of the summer shows (not counting spring shows that have continued) and if you have the time, I think you should check it out. I am a little curious to what other shows you’re watching that I am not, although I can guess since there are some other popular ones I dropped/never gave them a chance.

      And while the Fall season looks great, I probably will only be able to watch a handful of shows since my schedule will be extremely busy and borderline insane. Hopefully no one else has that sorta problem. Guess we’ll see once it starts up.

      • #9 by tsurugiarashix on July 30, 2011 - 7:31 AM

        Guess it wouldn’t hurt to try it then. Oh, and I am not doing too much different than you are. Still trying to hold my sanity with watching Kamisama no Memo-chou and Itsuka Tenma no Kuro-Usagi. Other than watching most of what you are adding to that Ro-kyu-bu, Mayo Chiki, Morita-san, and Yuru Yuri.

        I know the feeling. My watching for this season is something I should of thought about. College classes and all >_<

        • #10 by avvesione on July 30, 2011 - 1:39 PM

          Great, hope you enjoy No.6 as much as I do. Lemme know what you think about it after you finish catching up.

Leave a Reply

