12 Days of Anime – Day 3 – Goat Doll in Last Exile

I’ve always wanted to watch Last Exile but, for whatever reason, never did.  When I saw the sequel was airing during the Autumn 2011 season, I made a decree and marathoned the series in September so that I could talk about it with all the cool kids and understand Last Exile Ginyoku no Fam to its fullest.  And as expected, I absolutely loved the anime from start to finish and it has become one of my all-time favorites (sixth overall if I ever make such a list).  But what was unexpected was an unforeseen event in which I undeniably fell in love with a certain prop.  Goat Doll from the original Last Exile takes Day 3 on my 12 Days of Anime.

The doll never really played an important role in the Last Exile, only being used from time to time as a means of accomplishing some plot point or developing a character.  It was used by Claus and Lavie as a way to board the Silvana to see Alvis and used by multiple characters, although mostly Al, as a way to bond with others, such as when she offered it to Lavie when she was crying.  The doll was also featured a few times to help visualize or symbolize the innocence and purity of the characters, like Al when she discovered the doll resting on a bookshelf or in those old pictures of Lavie when she was first riding in a vanship.  The doll was also used to dispel the tension or drama in various scenes or used for a quick laugh with its memorable “baaaahh”.  For such a simple prop, this doll did it all.  And did I even need to tell you it’s adorable.

As you can quickly tell, I love that goat doll.  It was the cutest thing I’ve seen in any anime this year.  And it was a prop that had multiple used throughout the entire anime without it being essential to the story or any character.  You don’t often get to say that about props in anime.  And it’s “baaaahh” always warmed my heart or gave me a laugh.  That doll was truly amazing and one of my favorite things about Last Exile.  Every episode I watched I always anticipated the appearance of Goat Doll, usually tightly gripped within Al’s arms, and would feel relieved knowing it was included in yet another episode.

Obviously there are other more memorable aspects of Last Exile than this simple doll but I expected to remember the characters, the vanships, the themes, and the overall story.  What I wasn’t expecting was to fall in love with a mere item, one that could’ve been excluded from the anime, and obsessing over it when talking to my friends about Last Exile.  I don’t think I’ve ever felt a way about a prop in an anime before which just goes to show how much of an influence this Goat Doll has had on me.  Seeing as it is one of my favorite things from one of my favorite anime, it’s no wonder that Goat Doll is included in my 12 Days of Anime series.

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

