7 Year Anniversary and… Now What?

needless-09-setsuna-speed-shoujo_butai-girls_squad-simeon-smile-school_uniform-blue_spiky_hair-tomboy

It’s been 7 years since I started this anime blog.  It originally began as a challenge for me: a way to force me to think deeply and critically about anime; to share my thoughts and appreciations of the shows I watch; to develop a voice for my creative writing; and to discover and grow my relationships with other anime enthusiasts.  When I look back – as I’ve done with every anniversary post – across these 7 years and 640 other blog posts – I am satisfied with my accomplishments, achieving far more than even my wildest dreams back on December 20, 2010.  But the same can’t really be said of the last year, which saw only a single post get penned in the last 12 months.  If I were to do a reflection of the year, then I’d simply request that you re-read my thoughts on an anime season that concluded 9 months ago.  Instead of looking back at 2017 for this anniversary post, I’ll try something new and look forward to what the future of this blog might look like.

needless-06-setsuna-biting_thumb-stressed-thinking-anxious

Getting straight to the point, while I still have the desire to write about anime, I certainly lack the time and the energy to write posts that I am satisfied with.  My lack of production this year is the same as it has been the last few years, though it seems to be trending in the wrong direction.  I still toy around with ideas for blog posts and brainstorm how I might communicate them here, but that’s about as far as it gets.  The desire to write about anime has never waned since starting in blog – rather, it’s gotten much stronger – but things are vastly different in 2017 than they were in any year prior.  At the very least, I’ll still have the ability and the opportunity to post whenever I am able, should I discover some free time in the near future or decide on other method of anime blogging.  Simply, the future of this anime blog will remain quiet and unknown, given the reality of time constraints coupled with my continuing desire to write about anime.  And if you want any evidence or proof that I still want to write about anime, look no further than my commitment to write my 7th anniversary post about a subject that’s still on my mind and in my heart.

needless-14-setsuna-speed-dean_drive_fox_hound-punch-smile

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kidserti on December 21, 2017 - 4:09 AM

    You surely love setsuna~

  2. #2 by Marina on December 21, 2017 - 6:09 PM

    Phew, am I relieved to read this post and realize that it’s not a final goodbye. You were one of the first blogs I read at the start of my experience blogging anime and it’s been sad seeing so many others from that time fade out and move on to other passions. I did it too for a time, then came back, albeit not as aspirational as I was at the start. I look forward to the day that you too start writing more, be that anime or, perhaps, something else.

  3. #3 by Tommy on January 2, 2018 - 3:07 PM

    Hi! I been reading your post for the last couple years. I enjoy them a lot. I hope you continue to write more in the near future. I just want to say Thank you for your hard work and dedication to the love of anime.

Leave a comment