12 Days of Anime – Day 12 – The Return of my Favorite Character

Quick, who’s your favorite character in all anime?  Probably was pretty easy, right, picking your top character or a small pool of candidates that depending on your mood would be your favorite.  It’s highly likely that those characters are from anime that are already completed (or if you’re lucky has material for potential additional seasons) so what remains are fond and charming memories.  It’s the same for me, too, but this year saw the reappearance of my favorite character in the form of manga and is taking the final spot on my 12 Days of Anime list (and yeah, I realize this isn’t anime).

My favorite character in all of anime, manga, and well, anything else is Setsuna from Needless.  Like most of you, the anime she’s in is over, but fortunately, the manga is still being produced and a new chapter debuts every month. I’m lucky that she has a chance to reappear every month but she hasn’t appeared since I started following the manga in 2009 and has been in the middle of a three year absence in the manga.

But all that changed this past November when Setsuna appeared for 2 pages in Chapter 96.  Yup, those 2 pages in an unpopular manga with a minor character setting up for some events down the road are taking up my final day on my 12 Days of Anime.  That should tell you how significant, delightful, and rewarding that moment was when I saw my favorite character reappear before my eyes.  Just think if she were interacting with important characters, got in a fight, or better yet, was used in some sort of a gag.  I’m sure everyone else would feel the same if they saw their favorite character return in some appropriate way, especially since this is the first time I’ve seen her in the manga since I started over 2 years ago.  And right behind Setsuna is another all-time favorite character in Kuchinashi, so that just made this moment even more wonderful and gratifying.  And while I never structured my 12 Days list to go from 12th to 1st (the list is in a random order) this moment is indisputably my top moment of the past year, better than any anime I watched or anything like that.  Yup, that just goes to show you how important my favorite character is to me and what a magnificent and treasured moment that was to see my favorite character return.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Soji on December 28, 2011 - 9:14 AM

    I can really understand your happiness here, obviously not at the lv that you’re shown in this post but I totally share your feelings. Since I’m really happy with the return of these two in te manga . I really hope that we will see the two of them more often from now on.And , and perhaps with Mio and Yamada (no matter how he dress) with them in some adventure. Seriously I do not know what I will give to see an adventure for only these four (like what happened with Mio and Yamada after the pfzero ).

    • #2 by avvesione on December 28, 2011 - 10:46 PM

      I wish we had Chapter 97 now but it sounds like we’ll be seeing some time with Setsuna, Kuchinashi, Mio, and Cruz all together but perhaps not all on friendly terms. It’ll be great to see those three part of the main cast again since they haven’t been together since the end of their fight with Blade in the Third Shelter. Not sure how they’ll progress in the next few chapters but it should be fun to see the four of them together for once and maybe even progressing to the four of them being all on the same side (the winning side that is!).

      • #3 by Soji on December 29, 2011 - 10:58 AM

        This would be wonderful and honestly I can imagine Sestuna, Mio and Kuchinashi (but her will be more hard)switch side. After all, all three of them have some kind of affection / interest in Yamada.It seems Sestuna appreciated the concern Yamada shown toward her when she was injured during the Rin incident .She even warned him to be careful that the day might come when they would be enemies again and that they (Sestuna and the other two ) could have had orders to capture or kill him.

        • #4 by avvesione on December 29, 2011 - 5:32 PM

          All three girls like Cruz for a different reason. Setsuna found his intelligence to be an intangible asset on the battlefield from the Third Shelter and respects his ‘method’ of fighting. Mio sees Cruz as a friend and enjoys his personality being friendly and playful back toward Mio. And Kuchinashi likes him for being a trap. Furthermore, Cruz has a reason for liking each girl, too, so I wouldn’t be surprised to see the four of them on the same side before this manga concludes.

Leave a comment